Eishockey, EBEL, Erste Bank Eishockey Liga, DOPS, Znojmo, Orli Znojmo, Lattner, Jan Lattner, Sperre

© Sportreport

Jan Lattner vom HC Orli Znojmo wurde vom DOPS für ein Boarding-Vergehen für zwei Spiele gesperrt. Der Verteidiger darf damit erst wieder am 21. November ins Liga-Geschehen eingreifen.

Das Heimspiel gegen den EC-KAC hatte für Jan Lattner vom HC Orli Znojmo noch ein Nachspiel. Der Tscheche wurde für einen Check gegen die Bande (Boarding-Foul) gegen Marco Richter vom DOPS am Freitag nachträglich für zwei Liga-Spiele gesperrt. Der Allround-Spieler steht seinem Team, damit erst wieder am 21. November 2017 im Heimspiel gegen den EC VSV zur Verfügung.

Das DOPS stellt dazu folgendes Video zur Verfügung:

Das Urteil vom DOPS in englischer Sprache:

According to the Arbitrator and after reviewing video evidence, the player Jan Lattner (#89) of HC Orli Znojmo, in the game against EC-KAC on November 2nd 2017, time 38:15,, made contact with an opponent deemed as Boarding IIHF Rule 119. As per the EBEL Fundamental Rules V. 5,1 (b), video evidence was sent to PSC(IDOPS) for a final verdict. From the perspective of DOPS, Jan Lattner demonstrated a motion on the opposing player that is defined in the IIHF Rule Book as Boarding.

On November 2nd 2017 in Znojmo a situation occurred involving Znojmo player #89 Jan Lattner. #81 of KAC, Marco Richter, while in pursuit of a lose puck, was aware of Jan Lattner. Around the hash marks Jan Lattner did chose an inside lane, which was a good choice. #81 while focused on the retrieving the puck picked a skating lane that was a consistent turn to his right which at the time of puck possession, put him directly in front of Jan Lattner. Both players were skating at a high rate of speed in a pattern 90* to the boards.

The incident was reviewed by the EBEL PSC and determined supplementary discipline is required. Although there was a small oneness on the white player, who was aware of Jan Lattner directly from behind, to alter his skating pattern to not be directly 90* to the boards, #81 KAC was not the sole or determining reason to be propelled into the boards. Jan Lattner made a choice, immediately upon puck possession of #81 KAC, to use his hands to propel force directly from behind. The push is not deemed overly aggressive, however with Richter and Lattner skating at a high rate of speed and contact occurring a dangerous distance from the boards, the responsibility is on Lattner to refrain from all contact directly from behind. The push action caused #81 KAC to proceed at a high rate of speed, dangerously and recklessly into the boards.

This type of action has a high probability of leading to a serious injury. #81 KAC did sustain an apparent injury at time, but was able to play the remainder of the game. The injury reduction was a direct result of #81 KAC immediately putting his hands up after puck possession to prepare for board contact. This is credit to #81 KAC in helping prevent a serious injury, but no deterrent in determining the action of Jan Lattner requires supplementary discipline. Effective immediately, Jan Lattner is suspended for 2 games.

Key references:
– Directly from behind
– Push to back of opposing player
– Dangerous distance from boards
– Not a repeat offender

The incident was determined by the EBEL PSC to be a Category 2 – ‘Reckless’ – a deliberate and/or dangerous action with no concern for the result, with a conscious action to provoke, through intent and a willful purpose. Injury is not the determining factor, but can be considered as influential means to the decision.
From the perspective of DOPS and according to the EBEL Penalty Catalog Ref Nr. 112 – Boarding Jan Lattner (#89) of HC Orli Znojmo is suspended for 2 games, effective immediately.

Medieninfo: EBEL